“Warm Chocolate Eyes + Rosy Lips”: Quick & Easy Drugstore Interview Makeup

If you’re following me on Insta (cough cough, plug plug), you’d have seen I’d posted a selfie in which I wore this particular make-up look. Not to blow my own trumpet (not heard that in a while haha) but I quite liked my make-up that day – *plays Feelin’ Myself in the background* – and decided to share it on the blog. So here it is…

IMG_4561 2

This look is very much a toned down version of my go-to night out look and focuses on very subtly enhancing my natural features, whilst still being neutral and professional looking but also is still me. A lot to ask of from a make-up look! The beauty of this is that no fancy blending techniques or brushes are needed so its a quick and easy one that I’ve been able to do in under 10 minutes.

So when I was younger I used to describe my eyes as “raccoon eyes” because naturally I have a slightly darker eye lid so it can look like I’ve got eye-shadow on when I’m barefaced. In this look, I play up my darker brown lid using Kiko Milano’s eye-shadow in shade “Mat Chocolate” (235) which is a lovely chocolate brown with warm reddish tones. Using a basic blending brush to sweep it across the shadow over the lid, no higher than the crease, with a slight ‘V’ on the outer section (really helpful as a guide for winged liner!).  If I find its too harsh, I occasionally use the Real Techniques Setting brush to buff in and blend the shadow a bit more. Moving onto eyeliner, where I stick to my trusty cat eye using Collection Extreme 2HR Felt Liner – don’t even get me started again on how much I love this liner. Few lashings of Benefit’s They’re Real Mascara and the eyes are done.

All that’s left – assuming you’ve done the rest of your make-up – is the lips. The lipstick I used is from the ยฃ1 MUA Matte Lipstick range in the shade Wild Berry. Now what’s bitter-sweet about this product is that the actual colour is a lot lighter than the suggested deep plum. It comes out as a rose/berry shade on my lips and the plummy undertones means that I can actually get away with wearing a colour that I’d often shy away from because the pink is too…pink. For a smooth base on my lips and eyelids, I put a small amount of L’Oreal Smoothing Resurfacing Primer – a great balm product that appears transparent. Few swipes of the lipstick and a quick blot down for more of a lip tint, and we’re good to go!

Have a click on the pics below for close ups of the finished look:

IMG_4583

From L-R: L’Oreal Studio Secrets Smoothing Resurfacing Primer, Benefit They’re Real Mascara, Kiko Milano Infinity Eyeshadow (shade 235, Mat Chocolate), Real Techniques Setting Brush, MUA Matte Lipstick in Wild Berry, Collection Extreme 24HR Felt Tip Liner

This has become my go-to interview look as I don’t think its too full on but it still shows you’ve made an effort to look nice! Feel free to let me know what you think of this look in the comments; do you have any go-to looks or tips for interview make-up?

[Let us know if there’s any looks in particular you’d like me to try out and share on here – open to suggestions! Any other questions, feel free to ask away :)]

Thanks again for reading, and hope you enjoyed this post.

Until next time,

Esther

X

5 comments

Leave a Comment

