BEAUTY // Lip Combo #1: Spring/Summer Coral Lip

Hope you all had a lovely Easter!

I’ve been ill for a good part of the past week or so but the bright side is that it meant I had lots of time to have a play around with my never ending stash of lipsticks and lip pencils. Usually one to shy away from a bright lip however, this suddenly sunnier weather has definitely inspired me to try out a bolder colour that isn’t my usual red or plum. Enter coral. I usually wear coral on my nails but never ventured to try it on my lips because I’ve been concerned it was too bright for my darker complexion. I’ve discovered that once the right lip combo is put together, you can pretty much wear whatever lipstick shade – bright or dark – regardless of your skin tone. So I thought I’d with you how I wear a coral lip in prep for the upcoming summer months, enjoy!

IMG_4222

As per usual, my lips were moisturised so its easier to apply products to them. I’ve found that for a bright lip to be wearable for me, I need to start off with a brown liner to even out the natural colour of my lips. I used the Kiko Milano Precision Liner in shade Coffee Brown (313) to fill in the centre of my lips after going over the outline of my lips with a warmer-orangey brown (Maybelline Expert Lip Liner in Soft Brown). Lightly blending the two of these browns together subtly showed the orange undertones that will flatter the coral. Now these next steps may seem a little odd, but I promise you it works! I’ve found that using a poppy red helps promote the bright look, so I did one swipe of a red lipstick from Poundland (from the Makeup Gallery in the shade 17 Deep Red) that I picked up a while back when I left all my lipsticks at uni (you’ll be surprised how decent this product is – don’t knock it til you try it!). Its got a glossy finish so I blotted it down ready for the next step. To actually get the coral shade, I used my Niwel Blush that’s a highly pigmented coral shade (I reviewed this product a while back on here) and patted it onto my lips using my finger until I’m happy with the shade. Obviously because its a powder, it looks super matte and a bit on the pink side. To calm this down back to coral, I just lightly blot with a tissue to take off excess powder and also to blend the products together a bit to somewhat “encourage the coral”. I like to use a lip balm like The Body Shop’s Born Lippy for moisture and a hint of red/pink which works well with whole lip combo.

Here’s a little close up:

cats

If you’re following me on Instagram or Twitter, you’d have seen how I changed up the colour by using more of the Maybelline liner on the base and lighter application of the lipstick to make it a more orangey shade. So goes to show you can make it as bright or as subtle as you want!

PRODUCTS USED:  (L - R) Maybelline Expert Lip Liner in Soft Brown, Nivea Hydro Care Lip Balm, The Body Shop 'Born Lippy' Lip Balm, Makeup Gallery Lipstick in shade 17 (Deep Brown), Niwel Blusher, Kiko Milano Precision Lip Pencil in shade 313 (Coffee Brown)

PRODUCTS USED:  (L – R)
Maybelline Expert Lip Liner in Soft Brown, Nivea Hydro Care Lip Balm, The Body Shop ‘Born Lippy’ Lip Balm, Makeup Gallery Lipstick in shade 17 (Deep Brown), Niwel Blusher, Kiko Milano Precision Lip Pencil in shade 313 (Coffee Brown)

Obviously you adapt it to make it work for your skin tone and desired shade – even better if you’ve got the combo in one lipstick already (lucky thing!).

This shade is making me warm to the idea of moving away from my normal statement reds and plums – what do you guys think? What’s your thoughts on a bright statement lip? I’d love to know your thoughts and any recommendations on lipsticks to try in the comments below (or feel free to tweet me @estsince94). I have two more lip combos to share with you, next one being a nude lip – you can follow me on Bloglovin so you don’t miss them! Thanks for reading!

Until next time,

Esther

X

 Quick question: have you noticed the new blog layout and theme? Do you prefer it to the old one? I’m in the process of changing its look and would really appreciate any feedback on the look of my blog from you if possible!

                            ———–

One comment

Leave a Comment

