BEAUTY // H&M LIPSTICK in “Downtown Red” (REVIEW + SWATCH on Dark Skin)

So over the Christmas hols, I had managed to leave every single lipstick I own back at uni. Safe to say I was pretty heartbroken when I realised this and thank God it was short lived when I stumbled upon this little gem.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I didn’t even know H&M had a cosmetics range (just me who was the late bloomer with this orrr…?)! I only realised when I had a quick browse on their website doing some Christmas shopping. I then had this issue of picking a shade as there was such a range – lovely nudes to deep berry reds. I went with Downtown Red as it looked closest to the classic red I usually have and would be a good replacement for any parties I had in the festive season. I was concerned it wouldn’t suit my darker skin tone because I couldn’t find any dark skin swatches online but at £3.99, I think it’s worth a try (I know I know what’s £4 really, but money’s money….am I student or am I a student?!).

Boy am I happy I took the £4 plunge! I fully fell in love with this lipstick as soon as I tried it on. It comes in very simple packaging – Long black tube with “LIPSTICK by H&M” written across and there is a small transparent bottom where you see the shade. Now I will say, this does not show the true shade – the bullet is a truer picture of the deeper red with berry/cool undertones. This was a surprise considering I wanted a classic popping red – but a pleasant surprise at that as I always find myself either mixing shades or darkening my lipstick to achieve such a colour! So no complaints there!

It’s an absolute dream to apply; at the £4 mark some people wouldn’t expect the quality to be that good. It’s very moisturising in application with no tugging and every swipe is that lovely and pigmented berry red I adore. As I prefer a matte finish, I blot down the moisture shine it gives and usually this can take away pigmentation but this isn’t the case- if anything I think it looks better and more striking as a matte colour. But each to their own…

Here’s a swatch of the lipstick and what it looks like on; one swipe applied straight from the bullet, blotted down and lightly applied again:

IMG_1108

IMG_0912

I put this lipstick to the test soon and wore it to a Christmas dinner and dance. Obviously there was a lot of eating and drinking and taking which left little time to reapply so I didn’t (oop) and considering all the above, I’d say for the first hour or so, the colour stayed in tact. Yes there was transfer onto my glass and yes the colour did fade in the later part of the night but in its defence, due to the berry like undertones, the fade was a nice (slightly deeper) rosy hue on the lips. Which I luckily managed to get away with because a) it was dark b) it still looked decent and c) I didn’t really care at this point because it was dark and…well food.

As I said, I’m obviously of a darker skin tone and I think this shade really compliments the skin tone so nicely and offers a darker alternative to the usual bright red lip. Also it contributes to making your teeth look a lovely sparkly white – always a plus. People who are of paler complexion may initially be wary of the deep was of this shade, however I can imagine this would look lush as a striking statement matte lip against a neutral/barely there face and eyes. If you’re not feeling so brave, maybe try using a lip brush instead of straight from the bullet to give a more subtle lip stain that adds that little extra pop of colour instead of the whole shebang.

Only qualm I have about this lipstick is that it can be a pain to remove when you actually want to take it off. It leaves a slight pink stain and your lips feel slightly sore from trying to scrub it off. I’d suggest using a strong eye or lip makeup remover rather than just a makeup remover wipe.

Other than that, I LOVE this lipstick shade and it’s fast becoming my go to night time lipstick (sorry MUA and Rimmel, I still love you I promise). I had my eye on other shades in the range and recently caved and got “B for Boss” – a nude which I pray will actually work as a nude for my skin tone without looking like dream matte mousse lips (pray for me). I’ll more than likely be doing a post all about it so stay tuned to see my thoughts!

Have any of you guys purchased anything from the H&M cosmetics range? Also what lip liner would you guys recommend for this shade, I’m struggling to find a good match that’s not too pricey! Feel free to let me know on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr or just comment below!

Hope you enjoyed this post, thanks for reading 🙂

Until next time,

Esther
X

Bloglovin // Twitter // Tumblr // Instagram // Polyvore

7 comments

Leave a Comment

