Beauty // My Updated Foundation Routine

As you can see from the title, I will be sharing with you my foundation routine. Even though I’ve not shared my foundation routine on here before, I say updated because I recently tried out the No. 7 Instant Radiance foundation (which you can read my thoughts on it here) and plan on incorporating it into my everyday routine once I’ve purchased the full size version. My foundation routine varies with how much time I’ve got and to be honest, if I can be bothered really. But this post will hopefully give you an idea of what I use generally for my foundation recently on a day to day basis.

STEP 1: MOISTURISE

I can get quite dry skin and despise applying makeup to a dry face. So I start off by moisturising my face with a thin layer of Vaseline (or Cocoa butter) and let that absorb a little bit. I apply Botanics Ultra Calm Skin Relief Serum underneath my eyes on both sides; I got bought this while on work experience at Boots HQ and its really starting to help reduce the sensitivity under my eyes plus it makes my skin super soft.

STEP 2: FOUNDATION

Once the moistrising is done, its onto the actual makeup! I use my double ended 2 in 1 concealer and foundation brush from Superdrug (I can’t find a link but I know it was only a fiver tops!) to apply the No. 7 Instant radiance foundation in shade 2 Walnut. If I feel its looking too dewy, I may apply some powder – Bobbi Brown Bronzing Powder-  to reduce the shine. If you’ve already seen my review of this foundation, you’d have also seen a photo of what it looks like on, but if not – here’s a pic!

photo (1)

STEP 3: CONCEALING/HIGHLIGHTING

I’ve found using this foundation that it looks better when paired with a concealer to highlight. I use Maybelline FitMe Concealer in shade 355 and I dot it using the applicator under my eyes, along the bridge of my nose, “cupids bow” and on my chin. My face has tendencies to look tired because to an extent I have an uneven skin tone which is more obvious under my eyes which is why this concealer is fab for waking me up. I sometimes use it to tidy up my brows if necessary but that’s not everyday, which why I’ve not done it here. I use my fingers to blend out the concealer into my foundation as much as possible. Here’s a picture to show where I apply my concealer.

 concealer

STEP 4: “BLENDING”

This step is just to even all the out, making sure it looks as natural as possible and get rid of any harsh lines. To do this I use a kabuki brush I got from Superdrug for a fiver and lightly swirl it in my Bobbi Brown Bronzing Powder. I was using the Maybelline FitMe Powder in 355 but sadly I’ve lost it (waaaaaaahhh) which is a shame as it worked really well for me and had a cute little compact case…Anyway the Bronzing powder works well for blending as they are similar shades. Here’s the finished look (apologies for graininess):

finishedlook

So there’s my foundation/base look, apologies for the rubbish camera quality but hopefully it gives you a good enough idea of what it looks like. After this I’d usually use a blush for a bit of “colour”, tidy up my brows and put some mascara on for my go to “no make up makeup” look. If I can be bothered, I’ll do a “subtle” (if that’s possible haha!) winged liner but because this look is more for lectures, so I don’t usually.

Do you like a “no make up, makeup” look as well or do you prefer a full face? Feel free to let me know below in the comments along with any questions you may have 🙂

PS. I’d love to know your feedback on whether you like me to do these sort of posts or not, I personally quite enjoyed it but it’d be great to know your thoughts in the comments 🙂

Thanks again for reading, hope you enjoyed it!

Until next time,

Esther

X

Bloglovin Twitter Tumblr Instagram Polyvore

2 comments

Leave a Comment

