Beauty // No.7 Instant Radiance Foundation Review

So I went to my local Boots last weekend with mum for a browse when I noticed the No. 7 match made service counter. I didn’t hold a lot of hope that my shade would be there but after getting the MUA on hand to do the match test, I was surprised to have found a match! I was told my shade was Walnut, which is the darkest one available in the No. 7 range. I told the MUA I use foundation to even out my skin tone a bit and how I want something to brighten my skin especially in the colder months when my skin can tend to look dull. She suggested the Instant radiance foundation and as I didn’t fancy staying in store, she gave me a sample to take away. I thought I’d share my thoughts on it for a few reasons; one being I haven’t seen many reviews on this shade of this collection and another being…I wanted to share it with you guys. Hope they’re good enough enough reasons and you find this somewhat a helpful or enjoyable read at least!

Quick disclaimer: This product was a sample from the shop and all the views in this post are my own honest opinion and not those of Boots.

I like a natural looking base for my makeup and generally have somewhat combination skin with some dry areas as well. The key thing I look for in a foundation is that it covers/evens out the darker skin under my eyes and around my mouth. This foundation does well in doing that whilst giving a natural yet glowing finish. I’ve found in the past with foundations such as Dream Matte mousse that gives a full coverage, can look cakey and unnatural which wasn’t the case for the No. 7 foundation.

This foundation was already winning as I prefer liquid foundations over powders and creams just because its lighter, natural, and I personally find easier to blend with the rest of my makeup. I’d say that Instant Radiance provides a light to medium but buildable coverage but I choose to go on the lighter side as I don’t want to look like I’m wearing a full face on a day to day basis.

The formula is smooth and lightweight, so its great for summer months, I can’t see it melting off your face any time soon, as well as brightening up your face for the chillier months of autumn and winter. A lovely all year- rounder. Its perfect if you go for that dewy look so many seem to love, including myself,  but if you’re a matte kinda girl, this probably isn’t for you (perhaps the Stay Perfect one instead). That being said, I did find the glow was too much sometimes and could make me appear a little oily in places so I tend to balance it out with my concealer and powder (which you will see in my upcoming foundation routine post – stay tuned!).

The sample came in a mini test tube half full with the foundation and it still going since I got it on Saturday which goes to say how a little goes a long way. The actual product which you can see here, is a cylinder/tube like shape with a pump which is a huge bonus as I hate when things get faffy (nice technical words there Esther) when you’ve got to pour it out. Such a pain. But this foundation comes out the pump with ease, just enough so there’s minimal waste. You all must know how annoying it is when you accidentally pump too much out and end up having to cake it all on so not to waste it.

I thought I’d include a picture so you guys can see what it looks like on me – I apologise in advance for the iPod quality but it actually showed the foundation in its best form compared to my Fujifilm camera. I do hope its clear enough that you can get a good enough grasp of what it looks like on.

FACE

I chose only to wear a thin layer of Vaseline and Botanics Ultra Calm Skin Relief Serum (will be doing a review on this product soon in fact!) underneath the foundation and nothing else so you guys could have a true image on how it looks on me. Those products are in my usual skin routine anyways so it wouldn’t make a massive difference if they weren’t there, just like to moisturise my skin before any makeup gets on my face.

As you can see its a light/medium coverage and I probably should’ve done a before and after so you can see how much it evens out my skin. It makes me look a lot more awake and if i was in a rush, I would happily walk out the door with just this and a quick lash of mascara and be good to go!

I applied it with my Superdrug 2 in 1 Foundation and Concealer Brush (can’t find the link online but it wasn’t more than a fiver!) and it gave a nice flawless finish so much so my mum barely noticed I was wearing foundation!

I initially found it to be quite one tonal and my face doesn’t have a lot of definition already, so the natural finish enhances that in a way. I did make it work by using it as a base and paring with other products to give my face some sort of dimension – all will be revealed in my foundation routine post!

Overall, I’m very happy with this foundation, and at only £12.50 I will be purchasing it once my student loan comes in. Its guaranteed to last for ages so I’d say its a good investment for something that can be used all year round; and affordable if you need to top it up at some point in the year. I picked up a leaflet for the lipsticks matching my shade (Walnut) so if i pick up any of those, I’ll post them up on here!

I think I’ve covered everything I can think of but if there’s anything I’ve missed out or you got any questions, feel free to leave them in the comments or alternatively you can ask me on Twitter! Have you tried this foundation or other No. 7 match made products? I’d love to know what you thought about them!

Thanks again for reading and I hope this was a useful or enjoyable read in some shape or form for you!

Until next time,

Esther

X

Bloglovin Twitter Tumblr Instagram Polyvore

Leave a Comment

