Happy National Lipstick Day!

Heeeey!

[Let’s forget I’m a day late and just pretend I’m on American time for this post].

As you may or may not have seen on my Instagram, around 90% of my going out-out looks include some form of lipstick – usually plum or bright red and ALWAYS matte. I’m not ’bout that gloss life. So to celebrate ‘National Lipstick Day’, I thought I’d share the lipsticks I use!

LIPSTICKS AND SWATCHES

From left to right: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

1. MUA Matte Lipstick in Wild Berry, £1

This was an impulse buy when in Superdrug a few months ago and I admit when I first tried it, I was disappointed. I assumed the colour would be a rich plum but it wasn’t as pigmented as I had hoped and to get the colour to show up you need to build up the colour a lot, almost like a lip balm. With a lot of build up it comes up as a rosy plummy colour on my lips. HOWEVER, I’ve grown to love it and use it as a subtler colour for nights out and recently a wedding. More like a lip stain to give some colour to my lips but great when I don’t want to distract from my eye makeup.

2. MUA Lipstick Shade 1 from £1 Lipstick Range, £1

*Toya from Big Brother voice* Lemme tell you something, MUA £1 lipsticks are the ONE. I’m yet to find another beauty buy that will impress me as much as these lipsticks. I prefer my matte reds leaning towards darker plum like colours so Shade 1 is perfect for me! Again, I tend to wear this on a night out and I often make it darker to become plum with a black/grey eyeshadow as you can see in this picture.

3. Maybelline Colour Sensational Lipstick in Pleasure Me Red (547)

I actually borrowed (and never to be returned) this one from my mum a long while back so I don’t know the price or where she got it from but I had a quick look and shops like Superdrug and Boots are selling them for around £7. I love this one because whilst its still bright and rich in its red colour, its not too loud. This one is usually a go to for a night out as well (sensing a pattern yet?), usually when I’m wearing print and I don’t want my look to be too loud.

4. Rimmel London Volume Lipstick in Voluptuous (120)

Again this is another “borrowed” gem so I’m unsure of the price or where to get it as its possibly discontinued. Sigh. Now this is my brightest lipstick yet which I’ve found to be the perfect pairing for my all black everything looks, or just anything I feel could do with some colour. I’d like to think it’s quite summery which I love because I struggle to find summer lipsticks that suit my skin tone.

5. MissSporty Sheer Shine Lipstick (020)

This is my most recent one, but I actually don’t know where it was from as it was in a gift bag. i don’t use this one by itself because it is a sheer shine and as I’ve said not a fan. BUT I’ve found that it can double up as a lip balm and a nude lip colour over a little bit of foundation…and it smells good. I recently used it with my MUA Wild Berry Lipstick for a wedding and it did help bring the colour out. Its not a favourite but I’m slowly finding ways to make it work for me.

[Note: I was going to post some pictures of myself wearing the lipsticks but the colours didn’t really translate in the photos, feel free to look on my Instagram and ask which is which and I’m more than happy to answer!]
So what’s your go-to lipstick? I’m keen to try out some new lipstick shades and brands so if you’ve got any recommendations, let me know in the comments below! Thanks for reading and to keep up with future posts, give us a follow or you can subscribe via email 🙂
Until next time,
Esther
X
2 comments

Leave a Comment

